July’s Beauty Bag

onto blog rounded corners Anna Talks Beauty

July’s Beauty Bag –

Welcome to the little world inside my beauty bag this month. I am focusing on a nice sheer, even complexion with minimal eyes and a pop of colour on the lips. As we all know, it’s been pretty sunny the last few weeks and my make-up has been much more in line with this, tailored to suit hot days rushing around London and total ease of application.

Laura Mercier – Tinted Moisturiser in ‘Bisque’. £33 Space NK

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll know that this has been voted best this, best that and it tops all the polls. It is a complete fail safe and I never leave home without it! Perfect amount of coverage, hint of colour and SPF 20. It does not bring me out in any spots, rashes, itches or any other nasties. I have recommended this to many a friend and my mum too, who is a convert. It’s expensive but you’re putting it on your face everyday and it’s great, so invest!

Laura Mercier – Secret Camouflage Concealer in SC-3. £26 Space NK

Ok so I like Laura Mercier’s staple products!! They’re award winners for a reason..I apply secret camouflage to any redness around the nose, mouth and to cover any spots, little marks or un-even skin tone. You know the score I’m sure but mix it up or use either one depending on the season and your skin tone. A friend once comment whilst I was applying it ‘that’s amazing’ as I covered all the little imperfections, et voila! I use MAC concealer brush No. 195 with it to get to all the little creases and for optimum blending.

Chanel – Le Volume de Chanel Mascara in 1o. £24 Selfridges

I’m going to keep this one short, as it is fairly simple to sum up.. If you want va-va VOLUME and look at me lashes, this ticks the box. It’s black and you can keep it clean with 1 coat and apply sparingly or layer it up. It’s a thick brush with lots of mascara.

Burt’s Bees – Beeswax Lip Balm with Vitamin E & Peppermint £3.69 Burts Bees (UK)

I apply this to my lips before I apply most other products, as I am prone to getting dry lips particuarly on the cupids bow. It contains peppermint which tingles on your lips and at first I thought I was having a reaction to it! But rest assured, it’s a fantastic little staple and lightweight too. It’s 100% natural.

Caudalie – Moisturising Sorbet Cream £23 The Garden Pharmacy

The product isn’t really this small, it’s a sample! Which is great for the handbag and for me to give something new a try. I often get concerned about the effect of new skin care products on my face, in fear of an allergic reaction or spot outbreak. This hasn’t done this and has proven to be an extremely helpful addition to my kit. It squeezes out with a thickish looking texture, but as soon as you rub it in, it melts and spreads JUST LIKE SORBET! The result is ultra smooth, no stickiness or residue at all and it smells fresh and lovely too. It lightly moisturises and it’s suitable for sensitive skin. I think it would be something to consider, but part of me is still hooked on my Olay beauty fluid for a fraction of the price!

Smashbox – Photo Finish Lid Primer Smashbox.com (US) Boots (kit) UK

The first time I’ve had a primer for the lids, I don’t wear a huge amount of eyeshadow, but when I do, it always creases and ends up near my eyebrows. It’s only when you get home you realise the disaster that is. This prevents creasing and stops the melting. Although I have found that I’m not a huge fan of having another layer of product on my eyes, maybe it will grow on me. Not the most useful comment, but at the moment I am just a bit un-decided. Thumb’s in the middle. To be continued….

Dior – Addict Ultra Gloss Glow 247 Lipgloss £22 Boots

Are you a fan of the milky lip? Used to put concealer on your lips? Haha, yes so did I, but now I have stopped wrecking my lips and go the natural way with a hint of pink and that neutral gloss. It’s quite a thick texture, so you can achieve a super glossy lacquered pout or used in moderation, is the perfect amount of colour and shine to dress up your look. I love this lipgloss as it’s not sticky and it goes with everything. Essential in my kit and good on top of any colour or none at all.

Chanel – Rouge Coco Shine Lipstick in ‘Flirt’ £24 House of Fraser

Coral lipstick or tangerine or anything a bit tango coloured as a lipstick can be a bit daunting and have you asking, ‘am I tanned enough for this?’. Chanel have created these little beauties to allow you to experiment without going mad with bold statements. The texture’s like a gloss and it’s got a lovely summery hue of coral. It helps lift the colour in your face, rather than making you looked drained. Let’s just say, I’ve been wearing it all of July and I have a mainly English tan. Looks good on all complexions and can be blotted if you want more of a matte look. Have fun with these and get something more daring, you’ll be amazed how easy it is to find a brilliant new colour.

Let me know what you think below!

Anna….x

2 thoughts on “July’s Beauty Bag

Leave a Reply

